Back from Burning Man, what the book’s about, and thoughts on Sappho’s work

Just back from a very relaxing 2 weeks away from all agendas and timetables! Still shaking the playa dust off me, after a wonderful few days out in the Black Rock Desert, I was able to be on hand this last Monday at AT&T Park for the big face-off between the Diamondbacks and Giants, won in the 10th by the Giants after a grueling back and forth test that Buster Posey called, “…probably the best, if not the best, game of the year.” Indeed, it was amazing

And as I await the galleys of my book, How High Should I Jump? The Satirical Guide to Pleasing Today’s Woman‘, which Seaburn Books will be be publishing soon, I want to take some time to: 1) reflect on the contents and merits of my book; 2) make mention of some salient events that took place out in the Nevada Desert last week; and 3) introduce a regular blog feature that I think people will really enjoy, so hang on, get another cup of Joe and get ready for a long read…

Now, as I’m just getting back to the office and climbing into the Captain’s Chair, it’ll be another installment before I give you my video introduction, a short 2 minute YouTube piece that I’m working on, which will lay out the essence of my book and why it’s a must-read for any man suffering from his woman’s infidelity (or fear thereof) and something women should read who have an interest in finding out how men view the issue of betrayal and a woman’s right to decide her sexual destiny on her own terms.

~
Ah yes, my book, my life’s work, a how-to satirical treatise for men suffering from a woman’s infidelity, are generally unsure how to act around women, or are simply sitting on the Relationship Sidelines while the rest of the planet enjoys themselves. Yes, my book is aimed at teaching men how to develop and enjoy relationships with women on women’s terms, but I am hopeful that many women will find my work interesting as well, as I believe the overall philosophy I espouse, satire or no, must be implemented by men AND women for the general good of our society.

I say, “Free women, Gentlemen, free them and support them and extol them while undergoing a complete and thorough examination of your selfish attitudes and actions, remake yourself into a man that gives to women and no longer simply takes and expects to be served.”

Yes, I have a great deal to say on these subjects, and very soon I’ll be launching my website, still being constructed, where you’ll be able to visit more in depth the very topics and ideas I splash here so proudly. The book should be out some time in October, and I am certain there is nothing on the market like it, for this compendium of satirical knowledge is taken directly from the sources themselves, the Masters of Antiquity, and, not to be too arrogant but I doubt there exists any scholar today who can match my background in the pre-Classics and my aim of achieving a New Matriarchy in the 21st Century.

A powerful two-pronged sword which I intend to wield…with impunity!

~
I won’t belabor you with a run-down on all the amazing activities out at Burning Man last week; suffice to say, it is an event every free-thinker should attend. Yes, the crowds are swelling and the entire event is becoming more commercialized each year, yes the dust is a pain in the ass and sleeping impossible, yes, you gotta adjust your linear thinking to incorporate and appreciate the most far-seeing people and their passions of creativity in the proper light, but what I took away from the week-long celebration of all things creative, aside from the burst of creativity, was something that happened around the campfire.

We’d been able to pitch our camp on some private property a few friends had made open to us, south of the playa and in the foothills just outside Gerlach. There, sitting around the fire one evening and discussing all the amazing creations and more, the uplifting, open and generous attitude of nearly every participant, I fell into a conversation with a couple women, which went something like this:

“Milt, I was reading your blog and you were talking about Sappho. I read her stuff in college but don’t remember her, yet you seem to really dig her. Why?”

I went into a rather long diatribe on her condensed, fresh and thoroughly-without-affectation style of writing, which to me, in every line it seems, is an expression of the essence of lovers and what it is to be loved. I was waxing along poetically, mentioning this and that large female personage from history when I was interrupted:

“You really know a lot about the great women from history.”

Flattered, I replied, “Yes, I’ve spent a great deal of time studying the great men and women from every era, and yeah, I have something I think is unique to say about them.”

“Well, are you gonna write another book? That’s something I think I’d like to read.”

I sat silently, considering the idea, when the woman sitting near her chimed in, “Yeah, you should write a book about them!” and then my wife, ever the creative center of my world, turned to me.

“No, why don’t you write about them on your blog? You could take one every week and/

“Yes!” I announced, “I shall describe the merits and outstanding qualities of the many famous but ignored Outrageous Women from History, I shall/

“Make it just the most outrageous, the most powerful, and only those the public knows nothing or little about,” my wife cut in.

“You mean, don’t start with Hillary Clinton or Camille Paglia?”

“No, forget the modern women for now, give us the stuff we never hear about.”

The topic got tossed back and forth as I sat and absorbed the idea. Yes, a weekly reference to History’s Most Outrageous and Powerful Women, hmmm, not bad…

Alright, so here goes our first installment!
~

I mentioned the work of one of my favorite poets in a previous blog, that of the 7th Century B.C. poet, Sappho. I’d like to take a moment to speak at length on what I find fascinating in both her work and her life, and to introduce to you a regular feature of my blog for however long demand for it lasts!

Yes, I’ve chosen to begin what Sappho, perhaps the most direct, concise and clear poet of antiquity and certainly one of the most influential sexologists of any era. I simply love how she effortlessly touches the essence of what it means to be loved; here is a sample:

Some say a cavalry corps,
some infantry, some, again,
will maintain that swift oars
of our fleet are the finest
sight on earth; but I say
that whatever one loves, is.

(from Poem 41)

Little is truly known of this amazing woman from the magical island of Lesbos, and we have precious little of her poetry. She was scandalized for running a school for girls where she was accused of prostitution; she was reported to have both women and men as frequent lovers; she trained women to find their places in a man’s world and became one of the most celebrated teachers of her era; she was a hugely successful businesswoman with vast financial holdings, yet while this all may be interesting gossip, it is her remarkable attitude, that of a powerful, sensitive and independent woman unapologetically thriving in a man’s world, we can learn much from.

She lived and loved intensely, clearly, and wrote as such. While I won’t bore you with exhaustive critical analysis of her style and its impact on successive generations of poets, Sappho is unadorned, without gimmick and perhaps the best example of what became known as the Greek Style. This is reflected in what is said about her, her directness and passion, her generosity and her defiance all becoming legendary. Like any celebrity, so much was said about her behind her back that I tend to ignore all the dirt and remember instead a woman who defied the status-quo of a male-dominated society, and left us with some of the most compelling examples of excellence in writing we have. Consider:

It’s no use
Mother dear, I
cannot finish my
weaving
you may
blame Aphrodite
soft as she is
she has almost
killed me with
love for that boy

(Poem 12)

I can only hope our present remarkable generation will liberate another Sappho to find her voice with and for us, and I invite everyone to take the time to explore the profoundly clear world of the poetry of the genius, Sappho.
~

One of the most important goals I hold for both my work and the movement which is taking place in Western Society, sweeping away the old debris of our failed, self-oriented Patriarchy, is for Men to become Good Partners to Today’s Dynamic Women. I speak at length in my book about the differences between the vast majority of men and what I call Objects or Winners, those few men who are being pursued by Today’s Woman for recreational sexual fulfillment. The former are really my concern and thus the focus of my work, and thus I’d like to draw your attention to what has been called the ‘moral ‘ of Sacher-Masoch’s masterpiece, Venus in Furs, from Severin at the very end of book:

That woman, as nature has created her, and as man at present is educating her, is man’s enemy. She can only be his slave or his despot, but never his companion. This she can become only when she has the same rights as he and is equal in education and work.”

There is much in the entirety of this paragraph, but I would only to comment here that, written 200 year sago, Sacher-Masoch’s call has not only come to fruition, but has since been reversed! Yes, women -while there is still much work to be completed- are now on equal footing with men in both financial and educational realms, and in truth, have surpassed them, to the point that it is no longer women but the very men who once stood high upon the Pedestal of Achievement that must raise themselves again financially and, more important, educationally. Most men today are not working or are severely under-employed, and their educations sorely lacking, while women have rose steadily higher in the working world and have educated themselves to a degree not seen in Western History.

Therefore, as a humanitarian first and foremost, I dedicate myself to properly educating men for the conditions they are and will be facing in the coming century. I am taking the lead here and inviting everyone who hears and understands my call to join me, for it is time we make Men acceptable Companions and Good Partners for Today’s Independent Women, while allowing Women to find and lead themselves, without undue criticism and with full intellectual and emotional support.

Yes, my tool may be satire, but it’s ablaze…with Truth!
~

With that, I will close for this week. I invite any comments or questions here on the blog or email:

r.miltonquibner@yahoo.com

Take care, friends!

Comments
2 Responses to “Back from Burning Man, what the book’s about, and thoughts on Sappho’s work”
  1. Amedar says:

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back at some point. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job, have a nice weekend!

  2. Mellissa says:

    This is really good, a man trying to teach men how to please women, I love it! When is the book going to be available, I’d like to know? Can you email me when I can get it form B/N? Thank you. MK

Leave a Reply

