Aspasia and Pericles, and the How High Should I Jump? Tsunami

Hey everybody, got a lot to get to, so hang on!

My book, How High Should I Jump? The Satirical Guide to Pleasing Today’s Woman is still aways away from release, but we’re getting there and I’m chomping at the bit to really begin promoting it. Aside from obviously wanting to make sales, I am interested to see the book’s affects spread in our society Yes, it’s satire, yes it’s oft-times vulgar and always filled with spoof, but as several people who’ve read advance copies have said, “It’s all true!” Yeah, I know it is, and though it’s damn funny (IMHO), the philosophy which underlies it is sound, and what I want to see take fire in men’s hearts and minds.

Yes, it is time we men took a backseat in our relationships with women and learned to subordinate our excessive egos for the sake of the women in our lives. It is time women were freed to follow their instincts and desires without undue criticism by men, and are given the respect and admiration that’s so long been overdue them.

I poke fun at men and refuse to criticism women. In my view, they’ve been criticized for far too long, while we men have been getting a pass. Hey, I’m a man in love with a goddess, my wife, and I’ve come to see the logic in freeing my wife to explore everything she desires without censure, limitations or guilt. I have nothing to fear from empowering my wife and, in truth, all women, for I trust in their benign, altruistic humanitarian natures more than I do the slovenly, greedy male pigs which are presently running rampant.

This whole bad boy/thug/punk act has gotten old, hasn’t it? And the ancient, hateful old men ruining the planet, from the imbecilic, entrenched 7th Century rulers in the Mideast to the evil Globalists been on enslaving all of us, I say, throw the entire lot of bums out and put some decent women in their places, now, before it’s too late!

Now, I’ve also come to see where and how I’ve been selfish and arrogant, and I’ve made changes to my behavior and my actions that make my relationship with my wife infinitely better. I’ve matured, and I’m doing what I can to help other men mature and embrace the amazing times we now live in.

These times call for women to increasingly step forward and lead, form personal relationships to political and social institutions. Now, I get this all the time, “Milt, we can’t just turn over all authority to women, they’re untested and raw, and what if they screw shit up?”

Uh, like we men haven’t screwed things up already? Are you kidding? The entire planet is bogged down by the results of centuries of unbridled male egos running amok. Let’s give women the chance to find their authoritative voices and fill the gaps where we men have failed. Sure they’ll make a few mistakes, but they gotta be given the opportunity and support, and I am gonna do all I can to see this take place, starting right here!

~

Got an email from Greg H: “I never heard of Sappho but I like her poems, rilly very compact. But I read that S/M book years ago (‘Venus in Furs‘ by Sacher-Masoch), and you think it’s a masterpiece? Isn’t it just a guy craving to get his ass beat by women?”

No Greg, it is far more than that. Yes, the central theme revolves around a man who does crave the lash, but it isn’t the overt sexuality but the profound philosophy, spoken early in the text by Venus herself and then throughout by his love interest, Wanda, that I believe makes this one of Western Lit’s greatest works. This is getting to be a long post and while I could include some salient quotes here, I think I’d rather invite you to re-read the book, paying early attention to Venus‘ amazing speech, and then the philosophy espoused by Wanda. I just can’t do it justice here, though should anyone care to strike up a conversation about its merits, I’m all in!
~

Getting myself set up over at Facebook and Twitter, and while I’m giving it my best, I must apologize for my tech-naivete and the speed at which I am able to make changes on both sites. Simply, I feel inept! Geez, I just wanted to get people involved and get conversations going and in my eagerness -and inexperience- I’ve been blundering about making invitations to people en masse and generally showing what a dolt I am beyond my writing ability.

Apologies to anyone who’s been contacted erroneously and got offended. Not my intent to ‘spam’, only to invite, get things moving and then back off. I fucking hate anonymous sales-pitches, yet in the book-selling business, you gotta generate momentum, and thus my intention.

~

In this week’s installment of History’s Most Outrageous and Powerful Women, let’s remain in Ancient Greece and leave the breathtaking Isle of Lesbos with Sappho and her girls deep in their studies before heading to the mainland and the center of what would become known as the Golden Age: Athens.

Here we’ll meet another remarkable woman, the hetaera or courtesan, Aspasia, companion of the great archon of Athens, Pericles, and one of the most influential women of the era. While we have no extant writings from her, and the stories we do have are filled with contradictions and slanders and may simply be the product of great envy, this much is known: Aspasia was a great beauty who rose to power not only for her looks and for, purportedly, running a very successful brothel, but because of her great learning and wit, rare indeed at a time when the overwhelming majority of women were looked at as either chattel, or bed fare, and little more.

Aspasia, according to the poet Lucian, was a “model of wisdom,” and he makes further note of “…her political knowledge and insight, her shrewdness and penetration.” This was no cheap whore but a well-educated and charming woman who, according to Plutarch, often entertained Socrates and his friends, where they discussed philosophy and current events alongside the other great minds of Athens. She was widely respected for her insight and became known as both a teacher of rhetoric and an advisor to the statesmen of her day, and though she has been accused of being a mere prostitute, it is clear that her fame was based more on what took place in conversation than between her sheets.

Here is an example, from Aeschines Socraticus.

Aspasia reasoned thus with Xenophon’s wife and with Xenophon himself: “Please tell me, madam, if your neighbor had a better gold ornament than you have, would you prefer that one or your own?” “That one, ” she replied. “Now, if she had dresses and other feminine finery more expensive than you have, would you prefer yours or hers?” “Hers, of course,” she replied. “Well now, if she had a better husband than you have, would you prefer your husband or hers?” At this the woman blushed. But Aspasia then began to speak to Xenophon. “I wish you would tell me, Xenophon,” she said, “if your neighbor had a better horse than yours, would you prefer your horse or his?” “His” was his answer. “And if he had a better farm than you have, which farm would your prefer to have?” The better farm, naturally,” he said. “Now if he had a better wife than you have, would you prefer yours or his?” And at this Xenophon, too, himself was silent. Then Aspasia: “Since both of you have failed to tell me the only thing I wished to hear, I myself will tell you what you both are thinking. That is, you, madam, wish to have the best husband, and you, Xenophon, desire above all things to have the finest wife. Therefore, unless you can contrive that there be no better man or finer woman on earth you will certainly always be in dire want of what you consider best, namely, that you be the husband of the very best of wives, and that she be wedded to the very best of men.” ‘

Touche!

It is one of my great fantasies to be able to dine and converse with Aspasia and Pericles. I can well imagine myself sitting beside these two giants as Socrates, Anaxagoras and even Phidias come to call; the talk is elevated and penetrating, no thought is left untouched, and Aspasia is the center of attention, this dazzling beauty alive as she works the room. Pericles adores her and, though she is the lover of many of Athen’s best men, he is permissive of her adventures and has eyes only for her. This is a man to be emulated!

Like Sappho, here is a woman who effortlessly commanded the respect of the men of her age, and bowed low to no one, yet was known for a grace and sense of generosity that made everyone feel welcome. I’ll ignore the disparaging comments left by disgruntled -and sexist- historians that have her committing all sorts of heresies, and will only admit that, because she rose so high and remained such a fixture in the life of this great city, there must needs be numerous envious accounts left of her, a particular trait of the Athenians, known for their inability to keep their jealousies and resentments in check.

Aspasia gently and wisely ruled over the greatest man of Athens, Pericles, who gently and wisely ruled over the greatest and most important city-state of antiquity at a time which all scholars recognize as the highest point of achievement in Western Civilization. Knowing her power, she was said to have made everyone who came into her presence, nobleman or slave, feel welcome and respected. It is this dual combination of ultimate authority held in check by a generous and loving nature that marks her as one of History’s Most Outrageous and Powerful Women.

~

Still a few days away from my book’s video introduction. When finished, I’ll splash it everywhere, as I will my website, due up…well, as soon as I know anything definite about the book’s release date. Until then, I’m just gonna be here and at Facebook and Twitter, stirring the waters and generally preparing the world for what’s coming.

Oh yeah, the How High Can I Jump? Tsunami is about to hit our shores, brace yourselves!!!

Comments
2 Responses to “Aspasia and Pericles, and the How High Should I Jump? Tsunami”
  1. Tim Oscar says:

    Mr. Milt, I have a confession, I am starting to hate women! I mean it, they don’t operate by any set of rules, they just act and dont give a d#mn for the consequences!! I can’t say anything to her, my wife, in criticism or I get called “sexist”!! You seem to be all about not criticizing women, but should they get a free pass? I want top read your book, seems different than so many others but what is your response to this? TSO

  2. Mickey says:

    Hating women, dude, ain’t right! You need his book bad, if you think its cool to be dissing chicks, I never do.

    Looking forward to your book, Quib. Dudes like that need it, IMHO

Leave a Reply

