‘Excellent Bathroom Reading’, what to look for when reading the Classics, radio shows and podcasts with Mia Matters, and “No sex without love?”

Hello again one and all! I trust your Fall season is proceeding sweetly, as it is mine.

I’ve got a lot to get to, so I shall dispense with the inanities; first, some text about my weekly radio show:

Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday nights at 11 pm Eastern/8 pm Pacific on the Positive Living Vibrations Radio Network, please join me for my half hour show, The Sexual Symposium!

This week’s show: The Epidemic of Criticism, the polluting affect of Outrage, inter-racial marriages and why you MUST read ‘The Apology’. Here’s the promo:

“In this week’s show, Milt expands his views on what he calls the current Epidemic of Criticism, and looks at how indulging in Outrage is polluting our attitudes towards each other; he explores a question on the merits and dangers of inter-racial marriage, and answers a reader question on how to learn Philosophy by urging everyone to begin reading Plato’s Apology, the story of the trial of Socrates.”

http://plv-radio.com/all-about-relationships/
~

On that theme, the podcast I have been preparing, ‘Get Over Yourself!’ The Milt n Mia Show, is quite near to launching, perhaps as soon as a week away, depending.

It’s been rather arduous to get my fidgety and always-busy wife, Mia Matters, to sit down in the studio for any length of time, but we’re getting there and the recordings so far are amazing! I think you’re really gonna enjoy listening to Mia and myself go over so many issues plaguing the modern relationship. Personally, I’m enjoying working out these problems with my genius-of-a-wife, and for her part, she seems to be warming to the idea of regular in-studio shows, a very good sign indeed.

And dove-tailing into the ‘in-studio’ theme, yours truly has been hard at work preparing an audio book of How High Should I Jump for sale and availability in the coming weeks. Yep, and this is something I am finding rather difficult to perform, for the annunciation, especially with the many descriptive words I have chosen, gets damn tough and I end up ‘re-taking’ a helluva lot of passages, my word! It should, however, be an interesting book to listen to, as I am a huge fan of audio books read by their authors, though I had no idea how demanding the reading actually is, geez!

More as more develops…
~

Got a great, short review of my book this week that I will be using in my promos; from Steve Y:

“Milton, this book of yours is excellent bathroom reading! I can take it a couple sections, couple pages at a time, then set it down and go about my day totally illuminated. Pure fun!”

Ah, Steve, dang it, I love you, it IS Excellent Bathroom Reading!
~

Alright, more emails. In this week’s bag, I think I shall limit them to the longer ones I generally refuse to print in full for spacial considerations but, this week, I have two I just can’t reduce effectively to their kernels and shall leave in place in their entirety.

From Mitch D in Port Angeles, Washington:

“You’ve got me interested in reading the Classics so I’ve just started but it’s really hard to see what I should be looking for. It’s all names and heroes that I can’t really relate to, like the one I’m reading, EuripidesHecabe. The guy at the bookstore said it’s one of the Tragedies, like you say, but can you advise me on how to read this stuff? I end of falling asleep and I haven’t even read a full page!!”

Yeah, I get that one, believe me; that was me when I first started so many years ago, trying to read Thucydides and yet, like you, I had no idea who and what all the names and places meant and I would routinely fall asleep a page or two into it.

At any rate, Mitch, sure, you want to look to the intent of the piece rather than the activity. Don’t get caught up trying to remember names or in the movement of the plot, but study and take notes of the Thought or Theonia: what are the principles the playwright is raising? Look at the emotions involved, but don’t analyze why each character does or says this or that, focus on the emotions and the ethics involved, which, if you stay with it, you will be able to locate.

Now, however, since we don’t share the Classical Ethos of Golden Age Athens, it’s damn hard to form a real appreciation for the writer’s intent. Yet, we can simplify it and say the Greek Ethos was comprised of three elements: refusal to be blasphemous; refusal to dis-respect a stranger or guest, which are the same thing to the Greek; and refusal to murder your own blood. That was the essence of the ethos which underlies every one of the Classical texts, this attitude the Athenians held towards themselves and their world, that is what you want to understand and feel.

The Athenians refused to violate these prohibitums and if you did, you brought shame upon yourself and your entire family, shame which usually led to your exile. As an Athenian, you just do not break the ethos, but they had very strong words for those who did, of course, and the Classical Tragedies are all about those people who, for one reason or anther, crossed over the line and broke the ethos.

We, as readers 25 centuries removed, want to grasp the feelings of the poet and his intentions rather than, again, just going from action to action to conclusion. It’s the inner part of the play, where Thought and Principle lies, that should be your focus.

Let me know if that makes sense, Mitch…
~

Our next email, from Jason K in Knoxville, TN:

“I have now read Jump 3 times and the first 2, I just didn’t get the full picture. I’d never read anything like it, a crazy manual that seems excessive in some ways, especially the way you just pound men to death, but still, something about it I just liked. Then, when I was in Malta this August, when I finished reading it, it was like a light switch went on: WAIT A MINUTE, I thought, underneath all the craziness is actually the secret to being a man! You put it in there, Milt, and even though it’s buried in the “Kevin” dialogues at the end, I got it, it’s about being clear, having unbreakable allegiances, being honest and your word meaning something, and you living your word. Also, if I’m right, you are actually laying out an attitude of “No sex without Love” and to learn how to love each other by being honest and honorable and true to each other instead of remaining separate and living our lives like we’re individuals in a relationship where we never truly share ourselves fully. This is what exploded to me that day and it just felt like I really got it, like I truly got inside your inner mind, so, am I right about it?”

Yes.
~

And, with that, Mia and I are venturing up to the mountains for the day, where we and Fall and all it’s pageantry…shall enjoy each other! Please keep writing in with any thought or question and I’ll do my best to respond, and in the meantime, take care and enjoy!

Man, make sure you enjoy

r.miltonquibner@yahoo.com

HowHighShouldIJump.com

Leave a Reply

