Nothing to fear from Death, 7 Sages: Chilon, and allowing men to be men

Oh joy, friends, the opening day of the MLB season has arrived, ah! Yes, this die-hard San Francisco Giants fan is in high spirits and looking for another return to the World Series. I won’t belabor how much better we are than the hated Dodgers, who we just dominated, or how…well, I suppose I should get on to more pressing issues, alas…

Alright, in our second installment of our search to understand the 7 Wise Men of Antiquity, let’s take a look this week at Chilon, the son of the Spartan, Damagetus. Chilon, it is claimed, helped overthrow a bad and bloody tyranny at Sicyon, which became later a staunch Spartan ally. Diogenes Laertius relates that he died from happiness late in his life when his son won the prize for boxing at Olympia. Like most of the Sages, there is precious little written about him other than a few stern and commanding sayings which have come down to us, the two most notable in my mind being, “Do not laugh at a person in misfortune,” and my favorite, “If you are strong, be merciful as well, so that your neighbors may respect you rather than fear you.”

Respect rather than fear; man, can our modern leaders learn a thing or two from Chilon…or should!

It’s said that, when he was old, he remarked that he didn’t think he had ever done an unjust action in his life, other than once, when judging in a friend’s cause, he had voted according to the law, but had persuaded a friend to vote for the friend’s acquittal in order that he might keep within the law, yet save his friend.

He was a noted poet and a spare yet elegant speaker; among his sayings is also this gem: “Prefer punishment to disgraceful gain; for the one is painful just once, but the other for your entire life.”

Indeed.

~

Email from Ricardo:

I just found this blog and I fucking love it!! I wish I’d gone to your mens conference, too, but I have a question after reading back almost a year of your posts:

You father just died, and mine, too, 3 years ago actually. You seem not to be bothered that much, judging by this blog, and I assume you loved your dad. What is it that you do to make you not mourn? I go a few days the some memory hits me hard and right back where I was, intense grieving. Please talk more, either in an email or on the blog, about your view on dying and dealing with it, and thanks for the great information!!”

As a student of Antiquity, Ricardo, I often flee to the Great Minds for refuge and tranquillity, and I have often found safe harbor in the words of men such as Seneca, the Latin Stoic. Seneca reminds us that “Death either destroys us or sets us free. If we’re released, the better part of us remains having lost its burden; if we’re destroyed, nothing remains and good and evil are removed.”

In other words, what really is there to fear in Death, other than being temporarily separated from our loved ones (I say ‘temporarily’ because I believe we are eternal souls who routinely re-connect with our friends and loved ones, perhaps here on Ge, but more certainly in the Apieron)? Death is the easiest part of life, every living thing experiences it, so how can it be an evil if it’s the natural end of life?

Too, my father lived a long and rich life and I find very little to be sad about and prefer to celebrate him in my mood and memory. Of course I get melancholic sometimes missing the Old Man, but I’ll see him again and I know his presence is around me; I am comforted by that, and as I said last week, again quoting Seneca, I’d rather make fun of life than bitch about what happens.

It strikes me that you’re clinging to your dad, Ricardo, which is natural, but 3 years is a long time, so I would advise you let your father go by seeing him not as dead but as freed from his earthly burdens and looking over you and your family. Trust that and get on to appreciating what you have in your life NOW, rather than what you think has been lost. Life is an illusion, Death yet another veil…

~

This week’s MiltnMia Show podcast episode is now live and, as usual, we’re kickin’ up dust and takin’ names:

Paper Feminists and allowing men to be men

Our recent shows challenging what I call ‘paper feminists’ (feminists who care principally for ideals rather than reality) and their social engineering attempts have been receiving some real resistance. It seems a few people do NOT appreciate our stance that men need to be allowed to be themselves, no no, they are of the mind that men and their instinctual, aggressive natures need even more pruning and de-inflating.

Agree or disagree? Take a listen and decide; here’s the link at ITunes:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/get-over-yourself!-milt-n/id796661531

If you don’t have an ITunes player, you can hear it directly on TuneIN:

http://tunein.com/radio/Get-Over-Yourself-The-Milt-n-Mia-Show-p576947/

~

And, we have completed all edits and our booklet, The Get Over Yourself Handbook on Cheating and Betrayal, is now in the hands of the printer! We will be loudly announcing its arrival -probably in next week’s blog- and we’ll be making it available in paperback, Kindle and all e-book formats, which I think is the way to go: save a tree, though if you must have Mia’s autograph, then by all means pick up the paperback!

We’ll be holding some promotional giveaways, both here and on the podcast, as soon as it’s officially available; in the meantime, go enjoy this fine spring weather, and remember, Go Giants, and F the Dodgers!

r.miltonquibner@yahoo.com

MiltnMiaShow@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

