“That donut keeps calling me!”: Addiction, Self-Control and Choosing who you want to be, with Christina Santini

Ah, the best laid plans of mice and men…

My computer’s hard drive suddenly decided it had had enough this week, and thus my entire on-line existence was thrown into confusion. I got up to go to work earlier this week and found the computer dead, and nothing I or my tech friend could do but bite the bullet and get another hard drive. And yes, that means I lost access to everything on the drive, unless I want to pony up the $700 minimum to have the data retrieved, which is not happening…

No worries, though, I’m a seasoned professional and of course I had every important working file perfectly backed up, right?

…Right?

Uh, not quite, it seems, for once the computer was again operational and I went about the task of restoring all my work form my external hard drives, to my utter horror, I have learned that the file I have been tirelessly working on for the better part of six months, a file which would amount to our next big MiltnMia project…was not backed up and is now gone!

Are you effing kidding me, I didn’t back it up? Nooooooooooooo! It can’t be, why, I must’ve backed it up, how could I have over-looked such a crucial protective step? Was I that cavalier, was I that…

Yep, I was, and yep, it’s gone, and yep, I am sick and no amount of rationalizing will restore my cool or my missing data; son of a b….

Oh, I’ll look one more time through the hard drives but I sense it’s pointless, the project is gone and the idea of beginning it all again is so Sisyphean and so damn daunting that I’m just…well, paralyzed.

Geez, friends, talk about a blind-side hit.

Uh, at the risk of sounding like a complete and utter hypocritical fool, may I suggest you routinely back up your important files?

~

This week’s MiltnMia Show:

That donut keeps calling me!”: Addiction, Self-Control and Choosing who you want to be, with Christina Santini

After Milt introduces the show, he mentions their 2 relationship booklets, The Get Over Yourself! Handbook on Cheating and Betrayal and The Get Over Yourself! Handbook on Creating Happiness in a Relationship, before talking about this week’s guest expert, addiction expert, nutritionist and yoga teacher, Christina Santini, who’ll be addressing addiction and food as a medicine. He then speaks about this week’s theme, Addiction or Yielding to Temptation. Milt, “The old timers saw the problem as one of self-restraint, instead of being a victim, which I don’t buy into at all. Still, addictive, compulsive behavior is everywhere, most notably with food.” He then mentions how the old timers saw it as a case of yielding to one of 9 different temptations which could lead you away from your center, before reading the American Society of Additive Medicine’s definition of addiction, “Addiction is a primary chronic disease…” He then asks Mia for her view, “disease or self-control issue?” Mia, “One thing we know is that your genes can change, and the most important factor is your important. If you’re in a polluted environment, it can change your brain. I’m not gonna say it’s all physical or all self-control, it’s more a combination, and some people like to have addictions and that’s how they identify themselves. And some may not want to change their addictions, they don’t want to change their behavior.” Milt interrupts, “There are 2 divergent views of temptations, and the old timer’s felt there were 9, so let me list them: the temptations of Pride, Anger, Envy, Lust, Greed, Sloth, Deceit, Gluttony and the big one, Fear. These temptations, or passions as the old timers called them, everyone experiences to some degree, every person has a tendency towards at least one but not everyone yields to them all. So, Mia, which of these 2 views do you think will eventually prevail? Will we empower people with discipline, or will we create a world of diseased victims needing treatment?” Mia, “Both, at least for now. If your personality goes towards addiction, that’ll be what you believe, and a lot of people need labels and will keep searching out doctors until they find one who’ll give them the label they want. Yet the new world that’s coming, people will look towards alternatives and throw off the old ways, as people are tired of feeling tired and will seek out real cures beyond a pill.”

Portrait.Santinichristina santini

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/get-over-yourself!-milt-n/id796661531

~

Mia and I will be doing our duty later today by going to see 50 Shades of Grey. Yes, much like those who venture to Mecca, Delphi, Sedona or other spiritual pilgrimages, we’ll be doing our part in the culture wars and diving into the deep end of this recent social phenomenon, all for your sake, I might add, our inquisitive audience. No, strictly a working outing, with no thoughts of our own pleasure or advancement!

…Although I might take a few hints from Mr. Grey and import some of his, uh, better techniques…

r.miltonquibner@yahoo.com

MiltnMiaShow@gmail.com

MiltnMiaShow.com

Comments
3 Responses to ““That donut keeps calling me!”: Addiction, Self-Control and Choosing who you want to be, with Christina Santini”
  1. Susan Wooldridge says:

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Susan Wooldridge says:

    Leslie, pay what you have to retrieve the files… Please?! 6 months worth. ?? Sending love, Susan

    Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] “That donut keeps calling me!”: Addiction, Self-Control and Choosing who you want to be, with Ch…. […]



Leave a Reply

