Julius Caesar and the Ides of March, and my soul-mate: An open oral love letter to Mia, with guest expert, Lori ‘Minky’ Radcliffe

The Ides of March, friends, are upon us; beware!

Indeed, one of history’s most inglorious moments took place in 44 B.C. in ancient Rome, when Julius Caesar was given his forewarning of death, and mocked it.

Now, there remains some confusion over just what is meant by the ‘Ides of March’. Some have held it to be the week or even 10 days around the middle of March, while others, the majority view, affirms the ides of March to be March 15th only. Generally in modern times, we think of the ‘ides’ as being the middle of any month, a period which was sacred to the Romans. Be that as it may, well before Caesar’s time, the Ides of March held fearful significance for several unfortunate tyrants, but it’s Caesar and his brutal murder that we remember now.

Let me paint the story in outline:

After returning to Rome from his conquests in Gaul, and sweeping away all political opposition, Caesar enjoyed the position of being perhaps the most feared dictator the known world had ever seen. While he lavished great fortunes on the poor in order to win their fidelity, he quickly lost the nobles, who feared and hated him for his expansive, irresistible power; soon enough, plots against him had been hatched, and Caesar spent considerable energy in rooting them out, confident that any attempt to remove him would be thwarted by the public itself, who had literally fed from his hand.

Early that fateful March, the soothsayer, Spurinna, had warned him, “You will be assassinated no later than the Ides of March!” Caesar laughed off the prophecy, yet knowing he was hated by the senate and there were continuous plots against him, he met with his friends and made plans to leave Rome on the 18th for a war against Parthia. On his way to the Theater of Pompey for a meeting with the senate on the 15th, he saw the soothsayer in the market and ventured up to him, “The Ides of March, old man, have come,” to which the seer replied, “Yes, Caesar, they’ve come, but they have not yet gone...”

Moments later, as he entered the theater, he was surrounded by over 60 conspirators, led by his close and trusted friends, Brutus and Cassius. Before he could defend himself, he was stabbed 23 times and died most likely from loss of blood; whether or not Brutus was, indeed, the last to plunge his dagger into him, and whether or not Caesar actually said, “Et tu, Brutus (You, too, Brutus)?” are questions for scholars other than myself, though I think Shakespeare, in his Julius Caesar, is responsible for that aspect of the myth.

At any rate, Caesar’s murder backfired on the conspirators, plunging Rome into absolute and bloody chaos that would last for decades, marking that day as historically ominous for tyrants down through history.

…Odd that Vladimir Putin, Russian’s dictator, would be missing on, yes, the Ides of March!

~

This week’s MiltnMia Show:

My soul-mate: An open oral love letter to Mia, with guest expert, Lori ‘Minky’ Radcliffe

After Milt introduces their guest expert segment at the end of the show with Lori ‘Minky’ Radcliffe, he mentions his opening show statement and how women may be attracted to him but that he has found all he wants with Mia. He then offers an ‘open oral love letter to Mia’ and his desire to create ‘a love tsunami’ across the world, describing what his mother said about finding your mate:

One day you will find the woman you are to be with.”

But how will I know, Mom, when I find her?”

Oh, you’ll know, alright,” she’d always reply, “There will be no doubts.”

He mentions his history of relationships and the doubts, problems and betrayals he encountered, “I think I tried to find my mate in every woman I ever kissed, at least at the beginning…I was too serious…” He admits he was probably too ‘desperate to find HER’, and relates that he made a pact with God six months before meeting Mia, “God, no more women, I’m sick of them!” then he outlines how and when he met Mia and what happened to him once he met her, “I saw a glowing, smiling, beautiful angel of loveliness from across that room and like I’d been magnetized, I just had to go over and talk with her, forget my vows of chastity.” Milt then talks about the course of their relationship, their hardships and lessons and how she demanded he give his best always and not be mediocre, along with how she made him into the man he is today, “I became responsible for myself and my actions, and I stopped judging myself and my so-called failures so harshly, because I just didn’t feel harsh any longer, I was happy, strong, confident, and it was being with Mia that made this happen, she had an amazing way of both supporting me in my dreams and ambitions and in kicking my ass to do better.” He then talks about dishonesty and how Mia wouldn’t tolerate it, “Like any man, I’d used creative language and verbal persuasion to have my way sexually with women, some of which was far from being truthful, but with Mia none of my former ploys would work, she saw through everything, and I quickly learned and made the determination that if I was to keep pace with this extraordinary woman, I would have to grow up and take charge of myself fast!”

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/get-over-yourself!-milt-n/id796661531

minkymore minky graphics

~

Mia and I are enjoying interviewing a host of thought leaders this spring for our podcast, and we hope you get the chance to tune in and listen to these very enthusiastic and enlightened professionals who are leading us out of the period of conflict and warfare, into one of cooperation and balance.

We all seem to be speaking the same language, with different variants of emphasis yet sharing the same goal: helping our brothers and sisters understand and learn to lead themselves!

 

r.miltonquibner@yahoo.com

MiltnMiaShow@gmail.com

MiltnMiaShow.com

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Julius Caesar and the Ides of March, and my soul-mate: An open oral love letter to Mia, with guest expert, Lori ‘Minky’ Radcliffe”
  1. Susan Wooldridge says:

    Hi dears… Miss you… Will be up the hill later this afternoon xox

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. oloksy says:

    Reblogged this on oloksy.

Leave a Reply

